TEP Gumbo Contest 2018 presented by Hilton Memphis


The 8th Tennessee Equality Project Gumbo Contest presented by Hilton Memphis will be held on Sunday, January 21, 2018. 

TEP's annual Mardi Gras celebration brings together teams from the Western, Middle and Eastern United States to compete for the best gumbo in Memphis. Gumbo contestants will be awarded prizes by an appointed panel of judges and by individual tasters like you in the People's Choice competition. Official judges shall also vote for the Best Vegetarian Gumbo. TEP is grateful for the generous support of its presenting sponsor for 2018: Hilton Memphis! 

Live music from Lisa. B. and Zigadoo Moneyclips!


Who is sponsoring the contest? Scroll down! The contest is no longer accepting sponsorships.


Online ticket sales at http://tepgumbo2018.bpt.me/ available through midnight on 1/14/2018. After this date, all tickets must be purchased at the door.

Gumbo Team Registration is $25 (3 tickets for $8.33 for your team). Purchaser will be required to submit team information and agree to contest rules. Teams may purchase registration for only one gumbo. Duplicate or additional team registrations are non-refundable and will be considered a donation to TEP. 

Gumbo Contest Team Registration Steps:
1. Review the rules available at http://bit.ly/gumbo2018rules
2. Complete registration payment on this page: http://tepgumbo2018.bpt.me
3. Submit gumbo team information at http://bit.ly/GumboTeamEntryForm2018

General Admission (21 & over) $25 - Includes gumbo tasting, voting in the People's Choice Competition, live music, general seating, and beer voucher.

General Admission (under 21) $15 - Includes gumbo tasting, voting in the People's Choice Competition, general seating, and live music.

VIP TABLE $300.00 (8 @ $37.50 each) - Includes 8 gumbo tasting, voting in the People's Choice Competition, live music, reserved seating for 8, complimentary King Cake and 8 beer vouchers. Purchasers will compete for best decorated table at the contest. Arrive by 3:30 PM before the event to decorate your table. VIP tickets available until supplies last Purchasers will compete for best decorated table at the contest. Arrive between 3 and 3:30 PM before the event to decorate your table. VIP tickets available until supplies last. 

ATTENTION ALL TICKET HOLDERS: The small stub of your ticket is the ballot to vote for your favorite gumbo in the People's Choice Competition. Save your stub to place in the ballot bag of your favorite gumbo team by 6 PM on the day of the event. 

Beverage Service: Each gumbo contest ticket for those 21 and older includes one voucher for beer from local breweries (more vouchers can be purchased for $5 with cash or credit/debit card from TEP). Hilton will also provide a full bar with wine, cocktails, other beer and soft drinks (cash only). Valid ID required for the service of any alcoholic beverages.

TEP is grateful to Hilton Memphis and our other sponsors for this event:



Mid South Homebuyers


Planned Parenthood Greater Memphis Region



Helen Akin


Baker Donelson



First Tennessee


Anne Gullick 

Mystic Krewe of Pegasus Memphis


Dr. Shawn Hayden

Susan MacKenzie, Attorney at Law and Mediator








Ray Rico Freelance


RentMemphis, LLC


Utopia Animal Hospital



Julie Byrd Ashworth, Attorney at Law



High Cotton Brewing Company


Memphis Made Brewing Company

 image_1__1__1__1_.gif SACHE




Carol and Dell Livingston





Jennifer Valli, AASECT Certified Sex Therapist, psychotherapist and specialist in sexual health, Instructor at UTHSC






January 21, 2018 at 4:30pm - 7pm
Hilton Memphis
939 Ridge Lake Blvd
Memphis, TN 38120
United States
Google map and directions
Jonathan Cole · · 9013013306
$25.00 USD · Purchase tickets
Kelly Pledger Weeks Josh Edwards Sallie Sabbatini Luke Noll Jeff Sellers Tanesha Tp Perkins Diane Thornton Micheal John Clinton Martha Hayes-Burkhead Jennifer Dunn Moon Brandon Hazlett DanaBeth Wilbanks Cody Clinton Tim Bomar Sherry Barker Hewlett Mindy Rice Wanda Halbert Joseph Horton David Weatherspoon Patty Crawford April Novay Veale Preston Blair Sarah Sacks Audrey May Dao Yang Boy Aaron Kara Middleton Kim Bledsoe Lloyd Aimee Lewis Rob Day Sarah Margaret John Mullins Jessica Wells Laura Goodman Bryan Derrick Hunt Emily Sara Beth Halldorson Brian Sullivan Rhonda Woodfork Johnson Jackie Standridge Tyson Saltwell Cathy LaLonde Bobby Prince Ken Briggs Jamie Russell-Bell Stella Brooks Tom Clifton Steve Speed

Who's RSVPing

Will you come?

NOTE: After RSVP, you will still need to purchase a ticket here

Showing 182 reactions

Please check your e-mail for a link to activate your account.

Donate Volunteer Find an Event